A bite of: Red Curry with Pineapple

This past weekend I was lucky enough to take a surf trip up to the quaint island town, Tofino. After a full day of surfing, I was starving, so along with some friends I went to The Schooner Restaurant. I had their Red Curry with Seafood and I was immediately inspired to go home and create my own version! Here is the recipe I made up (it’s quick and delicious ): 1 can of full-fat coconut milk, 2 tbsp red curry paste, 3 chopped mushrooms, 1/2 can pineapple tidbits, and 1/2 green pepper chopped, and 1/2 cup fresh shrimp. I brought the coconut milk to a simmer, stirred in the curry paste, and then the veggies. I let the mixture simmer until the veggies were cooked (approx. 7 minutes) and then I stirred in the shrimp and simmered for 3-4 more minutes.  It was full of flavour, and the pineapple adds the perfect amount of sweetness.

3 thoughts on “A bite of: Red Curry with Pineapple

  1. One of my all time faves! I’ll have to share my recipe with you that I got from the Thai cooking class I went to.

  2. This sounds like a wonderful version of red curry shrimp. We loved this when we were in Thailand. I make a green curry version that is also very nice. I think I like yours better than mine. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

