A bite of… Cornbread

I was at a brunch a few weekends ago (yes, the same brunch I brought the Mediterranean Potatoes to) and while I would like to think my potatoes were the hit of the party, they were definitely runner-up to a surprise favourite that was debuted late into the brunch. What was this culinary masterpiece? Cornbread. Simple, delicious, and widely overlooked as the perfect side dish, breakfast, snack, or even dessert (if you add a little extra sugar). I was so inspired immediately after leaving the brunch I went out and bought cornmeal, corn and a few other ingredients I didn’t have on hand. That day I had cornbread for breakfast AND dinner. It was perfect.

Now you may be asking yourself, “Is cornbread really worldly?”. My answer would be of course!

Here’s a bite of cornbread history. First Nations were using ground corn for cooking long before European explorers arrived in the North America. Cornbread was discovered by Europeans during the European exploration of the New World when the Europeans had to survive using only local ingredients and thus came up with cornbread, using cornmeal as a base. Cornbread was also popular during the American Civil War because it was very cheap and could be made in many different sizes and forms. Today, cornbread is a common in the southern United States.

Here is the recipe I used for my cornbread: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Grandmothers-Buttermilk-Cornbread/Detail.aspx. I also added in about half a can of niblet corn to add texture. And cornbread is best eaten with copious amounts of butter.

4 thoughts on “A bite of… Cornbread

  1. This looks a lot better than the cornbread we had many moons ago at Royal Roads. This one actually looks edible. Any chance you could make it for me Althea?

  2. I love cornbread! A little tip: if you like a little heat, add some chili! It’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

